Wedding Tips & ideas from Ever After OK
Oklahoma Marriage License Info
November 14, 2019 at 7:00 PM
by Ever After OK
Ever After Wedding Preview 72

Marriage Qualifications

Age 18 and older
Proof of age is required. Driver’s license, birth certificate, passport, etc.

Age 16 to 17
Parental consent of either parent or legal guardian, birth certificate.

Under 16
Under 16, marriage is prohibited in this state except by court order.

Persons divorced in Oklahoma may not marry anyone other than their previous spouse for a period of 6 months after the divorce decree is filed.

Blood test
Oklahoma law does not require a premarital blood test.

No residency requirements

$50 license fee or $5 if premarital counseling is completed. The reduced fee shall apply upon presentation to the Court Clerk of an original certificate of successful completion of a premarital counseling program. The certificate must be an original document, not a copy, and shall state that the named persons have successfully completed the premarital counseling requirements.

No copies, faxes or emailed counseling certificates are accepted. Premarital counseling programs must be conducted in accordance with Oklahoma Statute 43 O.S. 5.1:

(A. The clerk of the district court shall reduce the fee for a marriage license as prescribed by Section 31 of Title 28of the Oklahoma Statutes to persons who have successfully completed a premarital counseling program meeting the conditions specified by this section.

(B. 1. A premarital counseling program shall be conducted by a health professional, an official representative of a religious institution, or a person trained by the principal authors or duly authorized agents of the principal authors of nationally recognized marriage education curriculum including, but not limited to, Prevention & Relationship Enhancement Program (PREP). Upon successful completion of the program, the counseling program provider shall issue to the persons a certificate signed by the instructor of the counseling program. The certificate shall state that the named persons have successfully completed the premarital counseling requirements. A minimum of four (4) hours of education or counseling shall be necessary for successful completion of the marriage education curriculum.

2. For purposes of this subsection, the term "health professional" means a person licensed or certified by this state to practice psychiatry or psychology; a licensed social worker with experience in marriage counseling; a licensed marital and family therapist; or a licensed professional counselor.)

Waiting period
No waiting period required except for those under the age of 18. If under the age of 18, there is a 72 hour waiting period.

Oklahoma County Court
Marriage Licenses
320 Robert S. Kerr, Room 202
Oklahoma City 73102
Hours: 8a – 4p

Edmond Location:
28 East Main
Edmond, OK 73034
Phone: 405-359-4515

Monday – Friday - 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Closed for lunch from noon to 1 p.m.
Please arrive at least 30 minutes before noon and 4 p.m.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Let's keep in touch!

Stay updated on our news and events! Sign up to receive our newsletter.